The Power of Sound

13524518_10157104396020607_5494819046652478355_n

The trick of the eye
that sees what is not mine,
of skin touches what
remains external to me
of a mouth ready to taste
and imbibe from the world,
but then – of the ear that receives sounds
which find their landing in the heart,
filling my body with a shared
vision of our humanity.
I think about this,
and close my eyes
and without sight I can
contemplate what is left of me,
I still my thirst and desire for touch,
but the sounds – they remain,
the soft wisp of breeze, an insect in the throes of life,
the sounds whip through all the hollowed spaces,
cutting into the parts of me that come from behind
generating the possible spaces of our universe.
A picture is a slice of we have seen,
but a sound whispers and rattles,
beckons and haunts and braids our lives together,
and harkens to our ancestors and our unborn children,
and knows nor beginning nor end.
 
– TS
Leave a Reply

