Do Not Be Afraid

DSCF9215

Breathe in peace.
Breathe out peace.
 
I do not know where
the breath comes from,
nor where it goes.
 
I do not know
how the words arise,
nor where they land.
 
A lifetime spent learning
is no preparation
for the journey of knowing.
 
Sometimes I fall
under the weight of words,
the vehicle of my lessons,
 
Their ability to
sear right through me
as though they had weight.
 
What am I afraid of?
That beyond the words,
A gate is ready to fly open?
 
That back through
the layers of spacetime
lies an origin of purity?
 
Why are we so afraid
of what is pure and benevolent,
and always open to us?
 
Breathe peace in and out.
Rest in stillness
so as to watch fear go. – TS
Leave a Reply

