The Way of Us

P1350582

Sometimes I think
that if I could find
a way to walk,
which is to say,
to be in this world
in such that
a bird would land
on my head and
feel comfortable
perching there
day after day …
 
I do know that
it would take more
than the straight
back of statuesque
serenity of perfect
posture to get
the bird to stay.
It would, at the
very least, take me
understanding
the nature of things.
 
I would have to
feel in my bones
that it is the bird’s way
to migrate, and use
these gorgeous wings
of theirs to sail through
skies rough and calm,
just as it is a stone’s
way to live their place
through time, and our
way to wish for both. – TS
Leave a Reply

