My Street Japan. Day 8. {Photography Project}

My Street Japan. DAY 8. Tammy T. Stone

My Street Japan. DAY 8. Tammy T. Stone

This morning, as the lunar eclipse had us contemplating shadow and light, hiding and emergence, and the vast magnitude of our cosmos, I stepped outside looking for magic. When nothing instantly appeared, I turned my mind’s eye and my heart in another direction, knowing that magic appears everywhere, when we are ready and willing for its manifestation.

Green isn’t the first thing you notice when you step onto this street. In this photo, however, we are gifted with the resplendence of the natural world. In a tiny patch of cultivated garden (I’ve never seen who is taking care of this property, and does it belong to the city, or the apartment?), I can take my imagination and dive in, and remember that I live on an island. I think of all the uncultivated islands, or parts of islands I’ve seen, where nature is left to her own devices, and sings, and tumbles around, and soars.

It’s not that the singing here is more quiet. It’s that often, I’m forgetting to listen. One leaf, like one person, contains the world. A community of them – of us – is a dizzy dance of joy.  I’m humbled the ability of a photograph to cue me to dive back in and dance with the green-magic Life is always offering us.

2 thoughts on “My Street Japan. Day 8. {Photography Project}

Leave a Reply

