In the Dark of Light (Poem)

p1510669 - Copy

In the Dark of Light

In the light I play,

porous and awash under sun,

where the colours are more

than they are, strewn upon the ground

in their wildest symmetries –

and I am emerging into

all that I am, until the

sun sees through me

and I can’t bring my body to

hold its luminescence –

I close my eyes and wait

for nature’s rhythms to carve

smooth this rupture.

Colors and shapes dance ecstatic

before my eyes to their own echo, and in

this shadowy place I retreat,

not quite unafraid, having birthed

in its swell of memories,

certain now that the absence of

earthly hues I’ve tried to

forge into my skin is

today’s calling,

so I enter and rest, soothing

my frantic chest, swimming through

and whispering into the silence

while my bones quiver, threatening to fall –

I reach one hand out to catch

what light I can and hold

the other to close me,

to draw out another

piece of the dark.

Leave a Reply

